Governing Council for Business School Gradings

CRISIL's education grading initiative is governed and monitored by a governing council. The governing council provides guidance to shape the future of the education grading initiative, reviews progress and ensures that the grading initiative achieves its objectives and adheres to its values, and evaluates the criteria used for assessing programmes. The governing council members are:

Dr. Indu Shahani
Dr. (Mrs.) Indu Shahani, the Hon'ble Sheriff of Mumbai, is the Principal of H R College of Commerce & Economics. She is now in her third term as Sheriff of Mumbai.

A doyenne in the field of academics, Dr. Shahani has over three decades of teaching experience at the college and university level, where she has helped nurture future leaders. A doyenne in the field of academics, Dr.
Shahani has over three decades of teaching experience at the college and university level, where she has helped nurture future leaders. Recognised as an international academician, Dr. Shahani is also Vice President, International Baccalaureate Organization (IBO). There are more than 3,000 schools in 148 countries that offer the International Baccalaureate.

Dr. Shahani is on many leading corporate boards including Indian Oil Corporation, HSBC, Bajaj Electricals Ltd, Eureka Forbes Ltd, and BNP Paribas. She is also the chairperson of non-profit organisation, United Way, Mumbai.

A visionary and a thought leader, Dr. Shahani has been acknowledged worldwide for her significant contribution to education and value-based leadership.

Mr. Jerry Rao
Mr. Jaithirth 'Jerry' Rao is the Chairman of Value and Budget Housing Corporation Pvt Ltd, which aims to provide affordable housing. He is the founder and former Chairman and Managing Director of software major, MphasiS. Prior to setting up MphasiS in 1998, Mr. Rao served at Citicorp in several capacities in India, Middle East, UK, USA and Venezuela for over two decades.
Mr. Rao is actively involved with the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII), and with the Government of India's Software Technology Park initiative. He has also been the Chairman of India's National Association of Software and Service Companies (NASSCOM) and India Foundation of the Arts. Mr. Rao was Ernst & Young 'Entrepreneur of the Year' in 2002; in 2004, he shared the award with MphasiS vice chairman, Mr. Jeroen Tas. The Government of Karnataka conferred the prestigious Rajyotsava Award on Mr. Rao in 2005. He is also a trustee of Sujaya Foundation, Mathematical Science Foundation, and Sri Balaji HRD Trust.

Mr. Rao holds a Bachelor's degree in chemistry from Loyola College, Chennai and Master's degree in management from the Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad and from the University of Chicago.

Dr. Madhav Chavan
Dr. Madhav Chavan is President and CEO, Pratham Education Foundation. He secured a Ph.D in Chemistry from the Ohio State University, and taught at the University of Houston and the University Department of Chemical Technology, Mumbai. In 1989, Dr. Chavan became involved with adult literacy in the National Literacy Mission in the slums of Mumbai and set up the Committee of Resource Organisations for Literacy. He was instrumental in building the concept of a "societal mission" for universal
primary education through Pratham. In 1997, he resigned his University position to work full-time for Pratham.

As President and CEO of the Pratham Education Foundation, he remains central to the functioning of the Pratham network, which operates in 21 states in India, and has chapters in countries such as the US and UK. Dr. Chavan also served on the National Advisory Council appointed by the Prime Minister of India between 2004 and 2008.